This article is written for G Suite for Education Administrators.

Google Classroom allows your students to unsubmit and resubmit assignment work after they turned in. While these are convenient features for students, they also burden the assignment management for teachers.

Take real world examples

  • Students can unsubmit completed work and share it to their classmates
  • Students can unsubmit and make changes to their test assignment even teachers only allow one-time turn-in.
  • Students can add, modify or delete the submitted documents and resubmit them to the teacher. This creates file management chaos for the teacher.
Unsubmit button in Google Classroom
Unsubmit button in Google Classroom

This article demonstrates how Safe Doc disables the features of unsubmitting and resubmitting assignments in Google Classroom. If you have not installed Safe Doc for your school, please apply for a 30-days trial.

Disable the Unsubmit feature

The Unsubmit button is available after a student turns in their assignment, regardless of the assignment deadline. When the Unsubmit is clicked and the action is confirmed, the assignment can be modified and turn in again. Students can make changes as many times as they wanted, although it leaves footprints in the teacher's dashboard.

Safe Doc disables the Unsubmit button completely. The Unsubmit button greys out and hints Unsubmission disabled by your administrator. Students cannot click them.

Safe Doc disables the Unsubmit feature in Google Classroom
Safe Doc disables the Unsubmit feature in Google Classroom

Disable the Resubmit feature

After the teacher grades a student's assignment and returns the score, students can see the Unsubmit button turned into a Resubmit button. Students are also free to add, modify or delete the assignment work and eventually resubmit their work. The changes also propagates the teacher so the original graded version is lost.

Safe Doc disables the features of deleting existing assignment work (the x button), adding or creating new assignment work and the Resubmit button. What it means is students only can see a disabled greyed out Resubmit button, which hints Resubmission disabled by your administrator.

Safe Doc disables the Resubmit feature in Google Classroom
Safe Doc disables the Resubmit feature in Google Classroom

How to set up in Safe Doc?

First of all, you have deployed Safe Doc and read Safe Doc Configuration.

Turning off the features of the Unsubmit assignment and the Resubmit assignment are managed by two separate policies, BlockClassroomUnsubmitAssignment and BlockClassroomResubmitAssignment.

To enforce disabling the Unsubmit assignment feature, add and set BlockClassroomUnsubmitAssignment policy to true. By default it's not enforced if the policy is empty.

"BlockClassroomUnsubmitAssignment": {
  "Value": true
}

To enforce disabling the Resubmit assignment feature, add and set BlockClassroomResubmitAssignment policy to true. By default it's not enforced if the policy is empty.

"BlockClassroomResubmitAssignment": {
  "Value": true
}

Note the blocking enforcement applies to all students in the configured organizational unit (OU). It cannot be selectively controlled by teachers.


You may also like