This article is written for G Suite for Education Administrators.

Update 10/02/2020: The blocking feature provided by Safe Doc is deprecated. Please use the Google Meet’s built-in Host Controls > Let Everyone Share their screen = OFF option from the recent update of Google Meet in Sep 2020. However, the Host Control is on a session basis. If you prefer a permanent solution for all meetings, please try the following.

Google Meet is widely used in remote learning. One of problems is students can present their screens too and take over the control of presentation. This messed up the class.

This article explains how Safe Doc disable this screen sharing feature in Meet. If you have yet to install Safe Doc, apply 30 days trial.

What's changing

Before applying Safe Doc, the presentation feature appears in 2 places. One is in the "staging" page or "waiting room" and the other one is within in the meeting.

In the waiting room, there is a Present button next to the Join now button. Students are allowed to take over screen-sharing by default unless the teacher, as the meeting organizer, explicitly disallows participants presenting screens. Safe Doc removes the Present button permanently for all meetings.

Safe Doc removes the 'Present' button in the waiting room of Google Meet
Safe Doc removes the 'Present' button in the waiting room of Google Meet

On the bottom bar of the Google Meet after joining the meeting, the Present button is also removed as if the feature does not exist for students.

Safe Doc blocks the 'Present' button in Google Meet
Safe Doc blocks the 'Present' button in Google Meet

Who's impacted?

Students in the organization unit where Safe Doc is enabled are restricted to present the screen. Teachers are not restricted.

How to get started?

If you have deployed Safe Doc and read Safe Doc Configuration article, add the following policy BlockMeetPresent and set the value to true to disable the screen sharing feature on students' Chrome browsers.

"BlockMeetPresent": {
  "Value": true
}

On / off by default?

Restricting screen sharing is OFF by default.


You may also like these article